Coleshill Town 1 v 2 Bolehall Swifts

First Team Match Reports 2003-2004

Moderator: Alan Beckett

Alan Beckett
Site Admin
Posts: 2212
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 11:25 am

Coleshill Town 1 v 2 Bolehall Swifts

Postby Alan Beckett » Sun Oct 19, 2003 6:54 am

Saturday 18th October 2003
Coleshill Town 1 v 2 Bolehall Swifts
Scorer: Craig Davies.

New management, virtually a new team, but same result! A narrow defeat and Craig Davies getting Town’s only goal.
Caretaker managers Pete Wilson and Mick Beadle brought in nine players for their first game in charge against a rejuvenated Swifts side who had won their last three games after a poor start to the season. The early exchanges were even as Coleshill took time to get used to each other but it was the visitors who settled into a rhythm first and nearly took the lead on thirteen minutes. The ball found the back of the net and Swifts were congratulating themselves but the Ass referee held his flag high for offside. In a scrappy first 45 minutes chances were few and far between but Swifts took the lead when prolific marksman Ryan Allmark reacted first in a crowded goalmouth. Then on the stroke of half time Bolehall increased their lead with a disputed penalty. Frank Woodburn thought he’d cleanly won the ball when challenging an attacker but the referee pointed to the spot and booked Woodburn for his protests. Sean Derry scored from the spot.
Wilson and Beadle made changes at the break and got a reaction with a much improved second period. Craig Davies scored his customary goal when he challenged the centre back to a long clearance. The defender went down in a heap and when Swifts stopped, expecting a free kick, Davies let fly from 25 yards, the shot evading the keeper’s despairing dive. Coleshill huffed and puffed, trying desperately for the equaliser that their first half performance didn’t deserve but their second probably just about did.
It’s early days, but the management duo of Wilson and Beadle have their work cut out if they are going to drag Coleshill away from the foot of the table.

Team:- Craig Jones, Gary Falconbridge, Derek Wilkes, Steve Lees, Frank Woodburn, Tony Gormley, Mitchell Thompson, Dean Farrington (Daniel Nixon), Craig Davies, Kenneth Howell (Brendon Shilton), Chris Gee. Sub not used:- Adam Whyte.

Return to “First Team Match Reports 2003-2004”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest