Page 1 of 1

Southam United 4 v 3 Coleshill Town

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:05 pm
by Alan Beckett
Saturday 2nd March 2002
Midland Combination Premier
Southam United 4 v 3 Coleshill Town
Scorers: James Connor, Errol Black, Ant McManus pen.

Team: Greg Allen, Errol Black, Frank Woodburn, Simon Bradbury, James Connor (Chris Kavanaugh), Chris Mann, Ben Usher (Adam Townes), Paul Burns, Ricky Marshall, Ant McManus (Stephen Fulford), Mitchell Thompson.

Red Card Mayhem

Coleshill were denied three points by a bizarre refereeing performance. Coleshill were 3-1 up and cruising with 30 minutes to go at Southam when they were rocked by three dismissals, allowing the home side to come back to claim victory. Coleshill had taken the lead through James Connor but the home side hit back on the stroke of half time through Dean Faulkner. Within minutes of the restart, Errol Black scored his first of the season with a diving header and Mitchell Thompson was pulled down in the box for a penalty which Ant McManus converted. But Thompson was then sent off for a second bookable offence having previously never been booked in his career. He was then followed to the changing room by Frank Woodburn for a straight red card and then Southam were awarded a dubious penalty, Jagta Bahi converting. Town goalkeeper Greg Allen was bundled over for the equaliser, Niall O’Rourke getting the final touch and Ricky Marshall was shown a red card. It was no surprise when Southam grabbed a late and controversial winner through Venoor Sleem. Coleshill are now waiting on the referee’s report before lodging an appeal.