Massey Ferguson 7 v 1 Coleshill Town

First Team Match Reports 1999-2000

Moderator: Alan Beckett

Alan Beckett
Site Admin
Posts: 2573
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 11:25 am

Massey Ferguson 7 v 1 Coleshill Town

Postby Alan Beckett » Tue Jul 12, 2016 5:53 pm

Saturday 23rd October 1999
Midland Combination Premier
Massey Ferguson 7 v 1 Coleshill Town
Scorer: Tony Gormley.

P14 W2 D1 L11 F22 A45 Pts7 Pos19/20

Team: Chris Davies, Scott White, Dave Burke, Terry Billington, Dean Cook, Ben Usher (Jason Taggart), Paul Burns, Tony Gormley, Michael Pencheon, Mitchell Thompson (Liam Burke), Matty Robinson (Paul Burke). (Confirmed)

Dave Innes celebrated a hat-trick as Massey Ferguson put a magnificent seven past Coleshill Town. Goal of the game saw Des Seivwright curl his shot into the top corner with Richard Ancliffe, Dale Osborne and Paul Simms adding. Tony Gormley netted Coleshill's consolation strike.

Axe Man Cairns All Smiles After Romp

Loz Cairns decision to drop four players was vindicated by Massey Ferguson's 7-1 win over Coleshill Town. Paul Sims, Dale Osbourne, Ricky Smith and Matty Cairns were drafted into the team following the clubs poor start to the campaign. The dropped Andy Taylor, Paul Charnley, Pat Dunsworth and Nigel Kiernan showed their professionalism by turning out for the Reserves. Des Seivwright tapped the ball in from 8 yards when Dave Innis squared the ball across the box in the 15th minute and a Smith cross from the left flank was headed home at the far post by Osbourne. Fifteen minutes later Simms and Innis increased Massey's lead to 4-0 within five minutes of the restart and Smith's left wing cross was met by a diving header from 10 yards by Innis for the goal of the game. He completed his treble with a fine shot. Teenage substitute Gareth Plant and Anthony Hatton had a handful of chances to score in the final 30 minutes. Rich Ancliff who had earlier missed three one on one opportunities bagged his first goal for the Banner Lane club when a back pass bounced off the goalkeepers chest for him to prod the ball into an empty net in the 75th minute.

Des Seivwright, Ricky Smith, Andy Taylor, Paul Charnley, Pat Dunsworth and Nigel Kiernan all played for Coleshill previously and Loz Cairns played and managed Coleshill.

Colin Strong's first game as manager of Coleshill Town.

Return to “First Team Match Reports 1999-2000”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest